HUD Component(s)

Jan 26, 2008 at 12:42 PM
I am pretty new to Xna 2.0, yet alone 3D game development, however I have been trying to learn it in any free time I may have. So far everything is going well. I came across this engine a week ago whilst looking into xna 2.0.

Since then I have been learning and understanding the code and finding ways to add/improve existing code etc as a bit of a learning curve. Your HUD component was good, I liked it. However it did only have one HUD Message type. Therefore I decided to re-write most of it.

My version of the HUD Component stands with the following HUD Message Types...

HUD Message (XY parameters for positioning on the screen)
HUD CenterMsg (No XY parameters, This is a message centred on the screen)
HUD Hint (Like in valve source games this is a little message centred at bottom of the screen)
HUD Advert (With most games, any plugin that allows servers to show advert messages are usually shown top left - As does this!)
HUD Chat (This is a chat box bottom left of the screen, it shows up to "MAX" messages pushing the one before it up. Currently set to 4)

HUD Chat allows you to add messages to it which are displayed newest at the bottom pushing the others up, if maximum chat msgs reached then the oldest is removed and newest added.

All, with exception to HUDChat and HUDAdvert allow you to use an image instead of a message. All messages can have something which is called a boxStyle. If any of you have seen any AMX plugins for any sort of game or even valve source games the HUD messages always have a darkish rounded box behind the text.

This is set to false by default, but if you wish to you boxStyle then each HUD.create.... command has a override parameter where you can set boxStyle to true.