Implementing "floating" terrain

Dec 18, 2012 at 2:49 PM

Folks,

Trying to implement something akin to a floating island but current terrain model does not allow for it.  A transparent "rectangle"/"cube" underneath the current terrain implementation would work nicely.  I'm not a newbie but am far from advanced, so how far out of the template is this type of excursion?

Thanks,
Mike

Coordinator
Dec 18, 2012 at 2:57 PM
It would require a new type of terrain system entirely. By definition a heightmap cannot have two elevations at any given x,z. What you're describing basically requires a type of terrain called a "polygon soup", or you could use the current terrain and then use a custom mesh for the floating sections. Other limitations: You cannot use a heightmap to make land bridges, or caves, or holes in the world. So, what you're asking for is doable, and obviously has been done, but would require a new type of terrain system. If you want floating islands in the current engine you'll need to use a model/mesh and give it TriangleMesh physics. For an example of this in the demo there is a floating spaceship near where the camera starts out that uses TriangleMesh physics.

On Dec 18, 2012, at 8:49 AM, "sdbMike" <notifications@codeplex.com> wrote:

Folks,

Trying to implement something akin to a floating island but current terrain model does not allow for it. A transparent "rectangle"/"cube" underneath the current terrain implementation would work nicely. I'm not a newbie but am far from advanced, so how far out of the template is this type of excursion?

Thanks,
Mike

Dec 18, 2012 at 3:26 PM